Parshwanath Bhagwan Stories: Exploring 10 Births

Shree Parshwanath Bhagwan, also known as Parasnath Bhagwan, is the 23rd Tirthankar of our present time-cycle. He lived for 100 years. At the young age of 30, He took Diksha. After 83 days of rigorous penance, on the 84th day, He attained Keval-Gnan (Absolute Knowledge).

Thereafter, for 70 years, He delivered Deshna to thousands of people and invoked a desire for Moksha (the ultimate liberation) in them. Many people took His refuge, renounced the world and with His grace, attained Keval-Gnan. Lord Parshwanath attained Nirvan on the sacred Sammet Shikharji Mountains.

Dharnendra Dev is His Shaasan Dev and Padmavati Devi His Shaasan Devi! Today, people worship Lord Parshwanath with great faith and devotion. Maximum derasars (temples) around the world are of Parshwanath Bhagwan and the most widely chanted mantra, too, is His.

Let’s now go through the life stories of the Lord’s nine previous births, prior to His birth as Tirthankar Bhagwan Parshwanath.

The First Birth as Marubhuti, the Brother of Kamath
The Second Birth as an Elephant
The Third Birth as a Dev in the Sahasrar Devlok (Heaven)
The Fourth Birth as King Kiranveg
The Fifth Birth as a Dev in the Achyuta (12th) Heaven
The Sixth Birth as King Vajranabh
The Seventh Birth as Lalitanga Dev in Heaven
The Eight Birth as the Emperor Suvarnabahu
The Ninth Incarnation as Celestial Being in Heaven
The Tenth Birth as Tirthankar Bhagwan Parshwanath
Share on